The Museum of Childhood, Edinburgh

Laura Barrett
2 min readApr 17, 2018

--

Last year I had the pleasure of working with design team Studioarc on the refurbishment of Edinburgh’s Museum of Childhood. I was commissioned to create illustrations for a backdrop to an interactive play area for children.

Using some of my existing illustrations; Alice in Wonderland, the White Rabbit and the fairy tale Snow White, Rose Red, I also created some new characters. I had a wonderful time putting this together with Studioarc. My illustrations were then CNC cut out and placed over a woodland scene wallpaper.

Over Easter I took a trip up to Edinburgh and was delighted to see them in the flesh. I particularly loved seeing lots of children running round, interacting with the space. It’s a wonderful museum, I highly recommend visiting!

--

--